There’s nothing like getting into a car accident to put a damper on your commute. Suddenly, even the most pressing of concerns that existed prior to the crash have to be placed on the back burner while you deal with the aftermath of the collision. To add insult to injury, Texas laws can be long and complicated, so if you don’t have car insurance, it may be overwhelming to figure out what would be the consequences.
What Happens If You Get Into an Accident Without Insurance?
Texas requires drivers to be financially responsible for all medical injuries and property damage they cause as a result of a car accident. If you get into an accident, you have to be able to show that you can pay for damages by showing either:
- Proof of car insurance.
- Proof of a surety bond with at least two individual sureties who own property within the State of Texas.
- A certificate reflecting that you made a deposit of at least $55,000 with the comptroller.
- A certificate reflecting a deposit of at least $55,000 with a county judge in the county where the vehicle is registered.
- Proof of self-insurance, showing that you have more than 25 motor vehicles registered in your name.
Violation of this law is a misdemeanor and would result in a fine of up to $500, jail time for up to 90 days, or both. If you’ve previously violated the financial responsibility requirement law, the fine could go up to $1,000.
You would also run the risk of having your driver’s license and/or vehicle registration suspended if you were at fault for the accident and have no proof of being able to take financial responsibility for it. In addition, the Court could order the County Sheriff to impound your motor vehicle for up to 180 days, and you would have to pay out of pocket the daily cost of impoundment.
There are some exceptions to this law, such as if you were in possession of the motor vehicle for maintenance or repair and are not its owner.
Texas Car Insurance Requirements
If you choose to go the car insurance route, Texas requires a minimum coverage that is up to $30,000 for medical costs, per person, with a cap of $60,000 per accident. As for damages to the other person’s car, minimum coverage will take care of up to $25,000.
Keep in mind that these numbers do not cover your own medical costs or damages to your car. This should be an incentive to look into options that provide additional coverage from the minimum required by law.
Auto Accident Attorneys in Texas
Not being able to show that you would be able to have financial responsibility for an accident you cause can have a long list of serious consequences. If you’ve been involved in a car accident and want to know how to move forward, the auto accident attorneys at The Weycer Law Firm can help.
Discuss your case for FREE today by contacting us online or by calling (713) 668-4545.